My Wife’s Crazy Ideas …

08Jul06

My wife Ceci is always thinking… Thinking of new projects to do around the house. Usually these ideas come from watching those crazy home decorating shows on HGTV or TLC. (Personally, I think those shows are evil! Women watch those shows during the day, and when men come home at night they have to help their spouses out with home decorating projects that were inspired by those shows. Again, pure evil!)

Anyway, Ceci recently got another home decorating idea. This idea was to paint my bookshelf and turn it into a computer desk. Now, let me say this, my bookshelf was the only thing left in my house that was really mine! It had my books on it. My junk in it. To put it simply – it was mine. But that didn’t stop her. She took it and started the transformation process.

First, I had to prepare an area for her in my garage so she could pull this project off. Next, she took off the nice dark stain that I put on. Then, she asked me (yes, I’m involved in this project again – against my own will) to cut out a piece of wood that would be the new desk top on my old bookshelf. Afgter that she went crazy painting. She painted for four days while I took care of the kids, cleaned the house, and fed the kids. Finally, after many hours of painting, cleaning up paint brushes, the house smelling like paint thinner, the project was finished.

BUT, my invovlement in the project was not finished. Yes, I was called back into action. I had to reassemble the whole bookshelf/computer desk. I had to put the doors back on. Put the shelves back on. Attach it to the wall. All while Ceci directed my every move. After an hour the project was finally completed, and as I took a step back to look at the completed project, all I could think of was…

My wife is a GENIUS!!!! The project turned out great!!! What an awesome vision for my crappy bookshelf. What a great imagination. Who could have thought my bookshelf could look so good!!! The bookshelf/computer desk is an awesome addition to our house. It turned chaos into organization. It was a great idea, and I have to say this – the credit goes all to my wife Ceci. She had the great idea. She had the energy to follow through on that great idea. And in the end it turned out great.

Now, I must add one more comment. I’ve learned a lot through this whole ordeal. While this project was going on my attitude stunk. I was cranky. I helped out when asked, but complained the whole time. Overall, I was a jerk. I didn’t want her to do the project. I was happy with the way things were… But my wife had a better idea. A better plan.

So what did I learn? Support my wife and her projects. Why? In the end it will make my life easier and better. Ceci wasn’t doing this for her own pleasure, even though she likes doing projects. She was doing this for our family. She was the one being selfless, while I was being a selfish little baby. So, next time, I hope I will be willing (without complaining) to help her out on her next project adventure.

With that I have just one more thing to say… The bookshelf/computer desk looks great Ceci.



4 Responses to “My Wife’s Crazy Ideas …”

  1. 1 Bob

    You know, I just realized that Ceci really is a genius. She got you to do all of that with the book case, and HER COMPUTER IS A LAPTOP!

  2. 2 Anonymous

    Here are some links that I believe will be interested

  3. 3 Anonymous

    Really amazing! Useful information. All the best.
    »

  4. 4 Anonymous

    Your are Excellent. And so is your site! Keep up the good work. Bookmarked.
    »


Leave a comment